Skip to content

General information on Schengen visa

A Schengen visa can be issued for the maximum period of 90 days. If you intend to stay more than 90 days, you should apply for a residence permit.

A visa issued by a Schengen country permits free travel across the borders within the Schengen states if not stated otherwise in the visa. The Schengen countries include: Austria, Belgium, The Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
If you are not sure whether you require a visa to visit a particular Schengen country, please call the specific country's embassy.

The issue of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return.

A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than 90 days, take up employment or establish a business, trade or profession.

If you have not visited the Schengen area previously, a visa is normally issued for one entry. Once you have made one visit in accordance with the visa granted, you may apply for two or more entries if you can provide the documentation for these visits.

Information on processing of your fingerprints and photograph for the use of identification and verification of identity within the immigration area can be found here.